Wednesday Word Day

I’ve been going back and forth for the past hour on whether or not I should keep my big mouth shut, or if I should let y’all know what my creative team and I have been cooking up behind closed doors (okay, not really closed doors; Sonic seems to be the prime locale for creative collaboration). The jury has reached their verdict, your honor. We find the heart more powerful than the head (as always).

Okay, all metaphors aside, I am planning the big launch party for my organization, You Me We Empower, this summer!

So now that the secret is out, I should vow not to release any more information until we have concrete details and solid commitments. (I’m probably going to need my creative team to hold me to that one. . .)

For the past week and a half or so, my creative juices have been on overload. Napkins, my Big Idea Book, and my favorite set of pens have been quite handy lately. But oddly enough, the idea of launching an organization at the age of 16/17 isn’t daunting in the slightest. It’s not overwhelming, or scary, or worrisome. In all honesty, it is completely thrilling.

I read an article on starting my own socially entrepreneurial organization today, and one of their pieces of advice was, “don’t do it unless it is literally the most exciting thing in your life.” Well, thank goodness this applies to me. I grin from ear to ear when I think about all that can come from this organization. All the good I can do. All the lessons I’ll learn.

So though I am starting my very own organization as a teenager in a small town, I am wise enough to know that I can make a difference, just as long as I stay committed, focused, and passionate. I will start where I am, use what I have, and do what I can to achieve success, because I know it is possible. I may be one person, but I have a whole community willing to lend their support. I am a firm believer that if we come together, and I mean really come together, we can climb the mountains, swim the rivers, and slay the dragons blocking our path. Life is filled with all types of obstacles. It’s how we handle them that defines us.

Wednesday Word Day

One thought on “Wednesday Word Day

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Word Day | You, Me, We Empower

Leave a Reply

