Wednesday Word Day

Though the cold weather may be lingering, spring has sprung in my creative mind, and seeds are planted hourly, which sprout into hosts of daffodils, all culminating in an ever-growing garden of foolishly hungry, passionately wild, overbearingly daunting dreams. I wrote last week of how founding my own nonprofit organization thrilled me, that to be scared was out of the question. Well, I suppose that was before I recognized the reality of the dream before me.

For me, mantras such as this one that I’m focusing on tonight, or “if you’re dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough,” or especially, “life begins at the end of your comfort zone,” have somewhat of a special place in my heart that I believe deserve a (semi) short backstory.

Dreams, hopes, aspirations, plans, all of that has been instilled in me since I was young. To me, the future is a magical place where anything and anyone can happen. I can imagine it all. I can paint it like a picture. I can pretend it’s everything I want it to be. While I’ve always dreamt big, I’ve never dreamt really big. Like, “I can change the world,” big. Until now.

In sixth grade, I knew I wanted to become a writer. I had a passion for it, and I saw the world and all its humanity as a book waiting to be written. Luckily, I still do. But there was a second part to my “big plan,” one that I have recently tossed aside. For quite a while, nearly six years, I convinced myself that I was going to become a big shot book editor living it up in a big city. But when I imagined sitting down to be interviewed for college (yes, middle school me did this), the one question I simply could not answer eloquently, passionately, or most importantly, truthfully, was why. Why did I want to be a book editor? This question haunted me for years, and I never honestly answered it until I discarded the idea entirely, opting for a future I knew was right for me. Here it goes, the disgustingly dull and indifferent answer is that it just made sense. I was on the path of becoming yearbook editor at my high school, I loved to read, and dressing up as Sandra Bullock from The Proposal seemed like a real confidence booster. However, most fortunately, October 30th, 2012 rolled around, and my life changed forever.

This very spectacular day was, of course, the day I met Sseko Designs founder, Liz Forkin Bohannon, and immediately kindled a fiery passion and one-hundred-percent healthy obsession for empowerment, education, and equality (The Three E’s? Trademark?). As I discussed in my Fierce Female Friday post on Liz, she taught me more than just the importance of empowering others, but also the necessity of embracing the unknown. I’d always been rather indifferent to the idea of stepping outside my comfort zone. I pretty much took a survey of my nice little area, assumed it was large enough to accommodate me, and stayed put. But, oh friends, how wrong I was. The entire world is at our finger tips, if only we relinquish ourselves from the chains of fear.

So now let’s jump back to the present. Here I am, wandering around town, gazing out my window, bouncing from class to class. All the while, I’m conjuring up new plans for accomplishing one of the most impossible goals I’ve ever set for myself. Via You Me We Empower, I am going to raise $25,000 for Pencils of Promise–enough to build a school. But may I just say that the impossibility of the situation is the ultimate motivation. It may take me a while, but mark my words, I will help build a school.

The real paradoxical part of it all is that although it may seem impossible, I have never been so sure of a dream in my life–and believe me, I’ve had plenty. Maybe it’s because I’ve reached a new height of happiness. Maybe it’s because my passion for education and empowerment can light a fire underneath me that could rocket me to the moon. Or maybe it’s just because I’ve been watching too many videos of Adam Braun, and I have truly become an “impossibalist.” But then again, maybe it’s a combination of all three. I’m seeking out to change the world, to destroy every comfort zone in sight, to thrive on endless amounts of passion, and most importantly to believe in the utterly impossible.

Wednesday Word Day

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Word Day

  1. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. This will be a great site, will you be interested in doing an interview about how you designed it? If so e-mail me!

Leave a Reply

